RSS

Women & Fine Art

03 Feb

International Women’s Day Art Exhibition/ Large Painting with Natural Colors

The Women’s Development Organization (WDO Georgetown) in collaboration with Malaysia Women Art Association  is planning to hold an Art Exhibition together with a collective women artists’ event to produce a large painting from natural colours.

Date :    Friday March 5 , 2010 (Opening)

Venue:   46 & 48 Chow Thye Road,Penang

Theme:   Women – Art & Environment.

AIMS:

1.      To celebrate International Women’s Day; to foster awareness and care for the environment.

2.      To gather a collective effort and cooperation among the women artists to create a large painting with natural dyes.

I received an invitation last week for the said event.  I have always enjoyed being the member of d’ International Women Artists Council (INWAC) since 2005 for the fact that I could really feel that ART transcends colors, races and beliefs. In 2006 and 2008, I had the chance to travel with the group for our art exhibitions to Daegu, Korea and Beijing, China .. and enjoyed the experience gained through both artistic journeys.

So, next month the group will gather again in Penang and I will exhibit a couple of paintings that were inspired by the people of China. I must say the inspiration drew me to a new territory of style. The moment I did the sketches, I remembered the feeling of ‘being’ there- the ambient, smell, ancient walls and buildings and so many people walking by… especially when I visited the magnificent Forbidden City.

This particular painting is different because I reserved myself from applying much washes and colors. And it is entitled, “Beijing: Carrying My Little Emperor.” Only my figures are in color. Why? For those in China with one child-policy to control the population growth, they know how precious their little ones are..

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 3, 2010 in Home

 

One response to “Women & Fine Art

  1. aidaahmad

    February 11, 2010 at 8:53 am

    I’m proud of you, my friend… keep up the good work!

     

Leave a Reply

 
