RSS

Money Plant.. money..?

29 Mar

Plants are so important to you and me. I find it hard to understand when people cut the green trees down for a reason such as,”.. Annoying. Too many leaves fall on my car..” Sometimes, the trees are cut down to make ways for development. Arrgh!! It’s an eyesore when suddenly a lush area of greens became red and dusty with only dry grounds filling the air.

Ok. I’m not like an avid environmentalist or a gardener but of course I love the Trees, Plants, Nature and stuff. Now that I live in an apartment, there’s not so much space nor ground for me to plant anything.. but I make sure to have a couple of big pots of greens in the living room. And because I love the simple things in life (or just plain lazyhehe), I’ve made sure that the plants are easy to take care of.

There’s one plant in particular that I simply love and it’s called MONEY PLANT. Can you guess how it gets it’s name? Here’s what I’ve found out- It is called the money plant simply because it has round, plump, flat leaves that might, with a bit of imagination, look like a coin! This plant is usually kept as a dwarf in the house but can be grown in the garden too. But here’s another thing that I’ve found out- The belief is that while it thrives, one would never be short of money. It is also called a friendship plant, as it is easy to propagate. (http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/home/sunday-toi/open-space/Why-did-the-money-plant-get-it-name-from/articleshow/1256942.cms)

Cool, huh? Now I love my money plant even more. Actually, last week I picked a stem with just ONE leaf at my parents’ house and pot it in the apartment. This week, I have FOUR leaves already!!  The fact that I could take care this tiny beautiful creation of God healthily has really made my day :). It really doesn’t take much for me to feel happy. And so, I decided to make a watercolor portrait sketch for it.

So next, I was thinking why not this creature I so love became my muse in bigger painting? Perhaps, it could lead to some abstracts or semi-abstracts kind of artwork.. hmm.. (sketch-sketch-sketch!)

Yeah…I think I’ll work with this idea right now. Will update more later. Could I be planting ‘money’ in this magic pot too, perhaps..?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2010 in Home

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Money Plant.. money..?

  1. Mr Coffeebean

    March 31, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    i love your water coloring work!

     
    • yartstik

      March 31, 2010 at 10:36 pm

      Thank u Mr.Coffebean.

       
  2. Neeza

    April 21, 2010 at 2:01 am

    I love money plant too… simply because it doesn’t need much attention to grow beautifully… pssttt… tangan Neeza tak hijau la ET… 😀

     
  3. yartstik

    May 4, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    True.. true.. true.. Neeza. ‘Non-green-fingers pun bleh survive ngan pokok ni. hehe. Thanks 4 visiting! Take care.

     
  4. Reena

    June 18, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    Thank you for appreciating the plants… hehehe…. ada lagi satu jenis yg senang Yati nak jaga and agak cantik (quite popular house plant)… daun dia palmately compound – Schefflera plants (umbrella tree/dwarf umbrella tree).

     

Leave a Reply

 
