RSS

Flowers, Me & O’Keeffe..

18 Jun

And I quote ,” When you take a flower in your hand and really look at it, it’s your world for the moment. I want to give that world to someone else. Most people in the city rush around so, they have no time to look at a flower. I want them to see it whether they want to or not”.

Beautiful, isn’t it?

Georgia O’Keeffe was a painter known for her unique, individualistic style. Her work is sensual — evoking the sense of the subject of the painting — and somehow both realistic and abstract. One of her famous subjects was flowers and her paintings were bold, striking, innovative at the time with a very individual style.

Most women that I know in my life, love this God creation named Flowers. We are in fact (women) very synonym when it comes to the subject matter. All the more reason for men to approach us, please us and seduce us with a bouquet in his hand and sweep us off our feet, I guess..

I have only painted flowers quite recently.. last year, actually. Although it is a subject that I have adored all my life, I thought painting flowers were quite lame. I am a woman but it didn’t mean I must paint flowers and show how much I loved them..? However, last year when there was a watercolor exhibition and the theme should be on the subject, I did paint a few and to my surprise, I felt at ease just painting it… just like when I paint my favorite subjects- human figures. A few months after that, I received a check with a letter saying that all my flower paintings were sold at the exhibition. I was very please, of course.

Back when I was studying in the States, I’ve came across this woman painter called Georgia O’Keeffe. I liked that name and taken by her bold style in painting the flowers. She was trying to show us something that was usually taken for granted in our lives.. to be able to paint something ordinary and turned it into something so sensual and moving.. phew..not an easy thing to do.  I tried to paint a big flower on canvas using acrylic, and it sucks. Just look at it below:

I don’t know.. I just felt the painting was stiff and dull. This particular flower is now gone. I have painted somethin’ else over it.

But then, I really enjoy painting the flowers using watercolor. Perhaps that’s why my watercolor flower looks better than the acrylic one (at least, that’s what I think). When I paint with my watercolor, I could almost feel the softness of the petals, the smell and freshness of the green leaves.. it really goes well with the playful watery colors making their way on the textured paper.

Recently, I sold 2 more of my flower paintings..

When they are framed, they looked more beautiful. The paintings were bought by a Society as farewell gifts for a couple of its members. I think, they were definitely a thoughtful and beautiful memento and hopefully they’ll be loved just like when they were with me (yeah- I’m talking about the paintings).

Thanks O’Keeffe.. for the inspiration your paintings have given me.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 18, 2010 in Home

 

4 responses to “Flowers, Me & O’Keeffe..

  1. Reena

    June 18, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    Love it!!!

     
  2. yartstik

    June 21, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    It’s been a while.. 🙂
    Thanks Reena.

     
  3. norzilawati yusof

    October 10, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    salam…et…
    i luv all ur paintings..

     
    • yartstik

      October 22, 2010 at 11:41 am

      Thanks Zila for your appreciation 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
