RSS

Playing with Colors

24 Feb

I went to BRUSH-PAPER-WATER today and it was reviewing the artworks of one of American Watercolor Masters, John Salminen.

Wow! His works are amazing. I feel I could learn so much by studying his play of colors.. colorful shadows.. and abstract patterns. One of his paintings that really caught my eye was this one:

Nice huh? Look at how he played with the dark and light and yet colorful shadows.. I mean, most people would used black or dark blues to paint dark areas.. but you could actually find beautiful colors in shadows too. Paintings do make ordinary real things- extraordinary.. but not all artists could capture that. As for me, I need to keep playing with colors.. to understand, to improve and to keep pushing my own boundaries.. perhaps someday I’ll find the ‘key’ to a captivating painting such as the Masters’.

Right now I’m working on a new flower painting… yet another orchid. Well, my intention was really to keep ‘loose’ with splashing colors onto the background. It’s not done yet but here’s a few pics of work-in progress:

 

Saving the flowers with liquid masking..

I’ll update after the final touch-up. Alrite?

Enjoy!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2011 in Home

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Playing with Colors

  1. asmalltowndad

    February 24, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    Both very beautiful images, and John Salminen, Amazing!

     
  2. Reena

    February 25, 2011 at 7:08 am

    Alright!!! Cannot wait! 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
