RSS

Water with Colors..

28 Feb

Yes, watercolor is exactly that!

Don’t you ever wonder why… when you see the seas, the rivers, the lakes.. they look like they have different colors.. but when you dip a brush into any of them.. all you get is just plain colorless water! Well, I used to..

But now I learned that Watercolor paints are pigments held together by a water soluble binder, along with additives and solvents. So.. those pigments have provided us with all the colors. While the nature (ie. sea, river, lake..) as we see have derived their colors from reflected lights and many environmental resources. Amazing, huh? I mean, the early people who got this idea of how to ‘create’ colors from things around them must be very creative!!

Ok.. now, actually I would like to post my finished orchid and show another flower painting I painted last night.

My another flower painting.. I’m not so sure what’s the name of the flower but they certainly looked like some “bells” :). Again, my intention was just to play and play with colors to experiment more with values and contrasts..

Personally, I love the “bell flowers”.. the magical flows of water, the spread of washes, the light that introduces the glow… hmm.. are all working together, making this little painting quite strong.

Already. I guess, I’m on the roll.. :).

Enjoy!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2011 in Home

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Water with Colors..

  1. Melissa Liban

    March 1, 2011 at 1:42 am

    Wow, your paintings are beutiful!

     
    • yartstik

      March 9, 2011 at 11:36 am

      Wow! Really? Thank you Melissa 😀

       
  2. nancy t

    March 1, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    These are really quite lovely. I especially like how you handled the darks! nancy

     
  3. Louise

    March 3, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    These are beautiful flower paintings and I agree that the way you have contrasted them against the dark backgrounds is hugely efective.

     
    • yartstik

      March 9, 2011 at 11:31 am

      Thanks for your generous comment, Louise!

       
  4. Phoenix Peacock

    March 7, 2011 at 11:31 am

    Your paintings are extraordinary!

    I would love for you to consider joining my community art project if you have the time and interest:

    http://acommunityartproject.blogspot.com/2011/02/project.html

     
    • yartstik

      March 9, 2011 at 11:30 am

      Thanks Phoenix! I would definitely consider that. It’s an honor 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
