RSS

Parents’ Portraits and a Picasso’s..

12 Mar

Not my parents.. but my client’s :).

These portraits were commissioned by a very loving & thoughtful daughter for her parents’ birthdays which both fall in the month of March.


Owh, I also made an A4 sized birthday card for her mom- with the ladies’ portraits. Lovely.. I think :). For the card, I painted on a watercolor paper and later cut it into a heart shape and stick it on another art paper.. which I then wrote the birthday wish- freehand using ink and pencil color highlights.

Phew! I kind of glad that the background for each paintings turned out all right. The darkness and mix of colors have brought ‘out’ each portraits more. I used to be afraid to paint my backgrounds dark. I opted to play safe and stick to light and medium values of colors because I was scared to play with a strong.. abstract background. With more and more practice, I think I’m getting more confident playing with the abstract backgrounds and mixing colors directly onto the papers when the latter were still wet. It was fun.. yet full of  suspense too!

Watercolor has a ‘surprise’ element that is sometimes intimidating… especially when you use wet-on-wet technique.. because you don’t really know how it’ll turn out afterwards. Sometimes, too much mix will lead to muddy look.. and sometimes, it could ruin the painting too! However, the surprise could also be almost a miracle beauty when it’s dry altogether. No wonder it’s almost impossible to imitate or forge any watercolor paintings in the world..  well, you just can’t, can you? I mean, if I were to paint again these same pictures.. it’ll be totally impossible to get EXACTLY the same effects and colors.

However, oil paintings.. acrylics.. photographs/ digital arts.. and even sculptures could be forged! In some cases, you can’t even tell which ones are fakes! Of course, usually old masters’ works are the victims of forgeries. Why would you want to copy.. let say, my artworks? haha.. unless.. unless someday I become sooo famous!

If you want to know the world’s greatest and most famous art fakers, you could go to artfake.net. Well, these artists are forgers but still, they have really produced superb artworks nonetheless! I don’t think it’s easy to imitate great masterpieces! I think it’s very hard to follow exactly what other artists have painted.. yes, because you really have to study diligently the strokes, colors.. and everything to get exactly the same as the original. Not that I recommend anyone to be a forger (heh).. but hey, better be an original artist- be YOU 🙂!. It’s easier too.

Now, can you tell which one of these two below is Picasso’s original?


Enjoy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 12, 2011 in Home

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
