RSS

The Flower Season…

26 Jul

And I’m not just talking about the floral fest but also for me as an artist. It seems that lately, I enjoy painting flowers that captured my heart.

It’s almost like painting a portrait. You really need to observe and understand every aspects that exists on the subject… and feel the contour, the texture… the space… the highlight and shadow.

Anyway, I went to Floria Putrajaya that day and really enjoyed my outing with hubby despite the hot weather. The crowd was not too bad… as we were quite early. A lot of people came with good cameras, I noticed :). Yes, many were enjoying the colorful flowers at every nooks and corners. Some shopped for plants, flower pots and garden needs.

Over at the Bazaar area, things were a bit quiet. Those who were selling clothing, accessories and art & craft stuff were complaining for a slow sales this year. That include the Art Exhibition area- where I put a few paintings with my group of  Malaysian Watercolor Artists. It’s either because it was middle-of-the month/ people were there only for the greens,  or maybe they were saving money for coming Eidul-Fitr Celebration in the next two months.

The MWS Booth

From far left, Mr.Hubby peeking.. In the middle, my painting... ermm.. I forgot whose painting on the right.

 

Two more of my paintings on the right side.

Anyhow, I noticed that one of my smaller sized paintings was sold. Yay!

A Rose by any other Name..

As I walked to the next booth, I met one of Malaysia’s very talented illustrator, Kak Emila :).

Kak Emila & her adorable son, Yasin.

After that, hubby and I ventured to the widespread Garden that was specially made for the Event. Let me share some photos with you here…

At Floria Putrajaya 2011

This section was inside a huge air-conditioned space. We saw some local and international flower displays. Amazing!

Outside again, and I fall in love with these exquisite tiny orchids.

 

More fascinating stuff at Floria Putrajaya this year.

As were making our way out, there was a show going on in Laman Seni (or Arts Bazaar). My hubby immediately recognized the veteran singer, Shamsudin Lamin singing with a young lady singer (who sang beautifully to0!) on the stage.

Shamsudin Lamin performing Live with his traditional band.

After watching his show for a while, buying a couple of matching Batik outfits for us and saying goodbye to another veteran, Pak Sani- the painter; we headed home… heady with sweet scents and memories from the Event.

Pak Sani (the one holding the small watercolor piece on board), one of Malaysia's established watercolorists- handling the Watercolor Workshop.

 

Talking about painting Flowers… I’m in the middle of creating a LARGE piece for another exhibition by Malaysia Women Artists organized by June Gallery, Petaling Jaya. The show will start in mid August.

Take a peek.

It’s not done just yet…

A large Rose painting on 4 x 3ft Watercolor Paper. Still in-progress.

 

In the meanwhile, I wish all of you Artists out there, Happy Painting and All the Best 🙂 !

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 26, 2011 in Home

 

5 responses to “The Flower Season…

  1. carlarey

    July 27, 2011 at 6:18 am

    Your new painting is just beautiful, and so is the little one that sold.

     
  2. Maria

    July 27, 2011 at 6:42 am

    thank you for sharing such wonderful photos of your part of the world!! your paintings are WONDERFUL!

     
  3. ayu jamal

    July 30, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    wah bestnyer..dh dekat umah dh, kalu x boleh g tengok jugak

     
    • yartstik

      August 12, 2011 at 11:15 pm

      wud be nice 2 meet u, U.. 🙂

       
  4. Shauna

    June 4, 2012 at 12:37 am

    Your watercolor rose painting is absolutely stunning! So beautiful.

     

Leave a Reply

 
